Forfeited Land Commission

The Forfeited Land Commission is a commission established by the State of South Carolina which consists of the County Treasurer, Auditor and Register of Deeds, who serve without compensation. The purpose of the Forfeited Land Commission is to effect the sale of lands forfeited in pursuance of the South Carolina Code of Laws, 1976, as amended 12-51-55; whereas the Delinquent Tax Collector at the tax sale submits the bid on behalf of the Forfeited Land Commission equal to the amount of all unpaid taxes, assessments, penalties and cost. At the end of the redemption period, properties held by the Forfeited Land Commission will be disposed of pursuant to the Policy and Procedures established by the Commission in the best interest of County.

For more information regarding the Forfeited Land Commission, see the South Carolina Code of Laws at Title 12, Chapter 59.

The Forfeited Land Commission Land Sale has concluded. Successful bidders are being notified. Thank you for your interest.

Commission Members

Carolyn M. Umphlett
Berkeley County Treasurer

.Janet Brown Jurosko
Berkeley County Auditor

Cynthia B. (Cindy) Forte
Berkeley County Register of Deeds

Lori Glover
Deputy Treasurer, FLC Secretary
Office: 843-719-4042
Email -